Tanzania Visa Types

Consult the Tanzania visa types to understand which type of visa you need for your trip, depending on the reasons for your visit, as well as the planned duration of stay in Tanzania. The types of visa for Tanzania vary from single entry visa, multiple visa, to other types of Tanzania visa such as business visa or transit visa.

Ensure that you’re applying for the right type of visa prior to applying for a Tanzania visa online and read the entry requirements for each type of visa for Tanzania to check that you are able to comply with the visa requirements before sending off your application.

  • Single Entry Visa
  • Multiple (Entry) Visa
  • Transit Visa
  • Business Visa
  • Referral Visa

Single Entry Visa

The single entry visa is the most standard form of visa for Tanzania that you can obtain and is ideally used by travelers who wish to enter Tanzania and do not expect to return once they have left. In the case that you wish to leave Tanzania during your stay, you will need to consult the multiple visa and decide whether this is more apt for your travel plans.

You can apply for a single entry visa if you expect to visit for less than three months for tourism, leisure, short term health treatment or other activities considered legal by the Law of the United Republic of Tanzania.

Entry requirements for a Single entry Visa for Tanzania

  • Apply for and receive approved Tanzania eVisa (print out)
  • Check that your passport is valid and will be valid for 6 months at the time of entry to Tanzania
  • Digital copy of a recent passport-sized photograph
  • Proof of payment for Tanzania visa
  • Fill in the declaration form

Multiple (Entry) Visa

This type of visa for Tanzania is designed for those who visit Tanzania frequently and is valid for a period of 12 months. However, you cannot stay in Tanzania for 12 consecutive months, as the visa is designed for those who come and go. The maximum consecutive stay period is 3 months at a time.

Entry requirements for a Multiple entry Visa for Tanzania

  • Complete the visa application form
  • The security bond duly should also be completed
  • Valid passport copy of the person who has invited you to Tanzania
  • Digital copy of a recent passport-sized photograph
  • Company documents, such as Registration Certificate, Certificate of Incorporation etc.
  • Any additional information justifying the applicant’s need to enter Tanzania multiple times within a 12-month period.

Transit Visa

Foreign nationals who plan to stopover in Tanzania whilst transiting to another country are able to apply for a transit visa. This visa is only granted to those who plan to stay in Tanzania for a maximum of 7 days while in transit. The traveler is also required to have a visa (if necessary) for their destination country.

Entry requirements for a Transit Visa for Tanzania

  • A photocopy of the applicant’s valid passport
  • Onward ticket for intended journey or an entry visa (if necessary) for the next/final destination
  • Visa fee (If visa applicable for next destination)
  • 1 passport-sized photograph

Business Visa for Tanzania

In order to be eligible to apply for a business visa for Tanzania, you must be traveling to Tanzania for reasons such as professional roles, lawful business or special assignments. A work contract must be provided in order to receive an approved business visa for Tanzania.

Entry requirements for a Business Visa for Tanzania

  • Work contract that gives sufficient evidence as to assignment/work to be completed in Tanzania (given within 3 months of the application)
  • Valid passport
  • 1 passport-sized photograph
  • Visa fee

Referral Visa

A referral visa is a different type of visa for Tanzania and is only required by specific countries (see list below). Foreign nationals from these countries need special clearance from the Commissioner of Immigration or the Commissioner General of Immigration prior to visa approval.

Foreign nationals who require a referral visa are advised to avoid booking flights or making any travel reservations prior to receiving their visa approval. It is also advisable to apply at least 2 months in advance.

Referral visa countries

  • Afghanistan
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Chad
  • Djibouti
  • Ethiopia
  • Eritrea
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Kazakhstan Republic
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lebanon
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Palestine
  • Senegal
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Somali land
  • Sierra Leone
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan and
  • Stateless persons or refugee status

Gratis Visa

The Tanzania Gratis Visa is a document issued by immigration authorities for a single entry or multiple entry visa to the holder of a Diplomatic, Services or Official Passport. Other eligible foreign nationals include Laissez-passer holders of the United Nations, South African Development Community, AU and other International Organizations recognized by the United Republic of Tanzania.

In all of the above instances, a Tanzania Gratis Visa is issued to an individual who is on official duty. In the event that a Diplomatic/Official passport holder is traveling to Tanzania on unofficial capacity, they would not qualify for the issuance of a Gratis Visa and will then be subject to pay the prescribed fees for the corresponding Tanzania Visa.

Gratis Visas may also be granted to a holder of an ordinary passport or travel document if deemed necessary by the Commissioner General of Immigration and Commissioner of Immigration in Zanzibar.

Entry requirements for a Gratis Visa for Tanzania

  • Valid Diplomatic, Services or Official Passport. Or, Laissez-passer of the UN, SADC, AU and other International Organizations recognized by the URT.
  • Proof of being on official mission in Tanzania.
  • 1 passport-sized photograph.

Student Visa for Tanzania

The Student Visa for the United Republic of Tanzania is a document that is granted to foreign nationals who wish to enter the country for academic purposes. The purpose for requesting a Tanzania Student Visa may be that of the applicant participating in academic research, working as an intern, or volunteering. Foreign nationals admitted in any recognized and legally registered educational institution are also eligible to apply for a Tanzania Student Visa.

Other people eligible for a Student Visa for Tanzania include EAC students and exchange students, both of which are qualified to receive their visas free of charge.

Tanzanian Student Visas have a validity period corresponding to the length of the study, research, or exchange program.

Entry requirements for a Student Visa for Tanzania

  • Apply for and receive approved Tanzania eVisa (print out in order to carry a paper copy during your travels).
  • Proof of being enrolled in an official educational institution in Tanzania: Admission letter and letter of invitation issued by the academic institution, identification card issued by the institution (if applicable).
  • Signed passport with a minimum validity of 6 months.
  • Yellow fever vaccination certificate.
  • Digital copy of a recent passport-sized photograph.
  • In case the student is a minor (under 18 years of age), also include an authorization letter jointly signed by both parents or legal guardians approving the minor to travel.
  • Proof of payment for Tanzania visa.