Tanzania Visas

Apply for your Tanzania e-Visa

tanzania evisa

Tanzania Electronic eVisa System

Tanzania has released a new electronic visa system for foreign nationals who plan to visit for multiple purposes, such as tourism, business, and transit stays.

The new Tanzania visa online aims to improve security and enhance efficiency at border control and immigration. Launching the electronic visa is also expected to boost revenue and tourism in Tanzania and furthermore, providing easier access to the country is part of a bigger plan to promote investment in the industrial sector, amongst other sectors.

All foreigners who wish to visit or live in Tanzania will now be able to access a Tanzania eVisa application via the internet, providing that they adhere to the Tanzania visa requirements. The Tanzania electronic visa system is set to be the new visa application method for Tanzania and adds to the global modernization of online visa applications that are becoming increasingly more popular amongst border security and immigration systems.

Who Needs a Tanzania eVisa?

New technology will also be brought in to facilitate the new electronic visa process. The introduction of the new technology is part of the government’s commitment to aid not just foreign nationals visiting Tanzania but also services for Tanzanian citizens.

Applying for a Tanzania visa online will mean that those who plan to travel to Tanzania will be able to organize their visa from home by applying online via the Tanzania electronic visa system.

Depending on your nationality and the duration of your stay in Tanzania, you may or may not require a Tanzanian visa. It is recommended that travelers obtain a Tanzania eVisa prior to arrival in order to avoid any possible inconvenience caused at the immigration border.

The following countries require a eVisa for Tanzania:

Congo* – Congo, The Democratic Republic of
SGSSI* – South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

The following countries are required to obtain a referral visa for Tanzania prior to arriving, as the approval of the Commissioner General of Immigration or the Commissioner of Immigration is required:

  • Afghanistan
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Chad
  • Djibouti
  • Ethiopia
  • Eritrea
  • E. Guinea
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lebanon
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Palestine
  • Senegal
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Somali land
  • Sierra Leone
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan and
  • Stateless Persons with refugee status

It’s important to note that being granted a Tanzania eVisa does not signify guaranteed admission to Tanzania. Like all visas and immigration control, the Tanzanian Immigration Authorities have the right to deny travelers admission, as they do to grant permission, as well. All documents submitted with the Tanzania visa online should be carried on the person at the time of entry in order to be able to present to border control, should they be required. Visa holders will be subject to standard Immigration control at their respective port of entry.

What Entry Ports Can I Use to Enter Tanzania?

Foreign nationals traveling to the United Republic of Tanzania with an approved Tanzania eVisa application are required to enter the country through one of the following entry points:

Julius Nyerere International Airport (JNIA)

The Julius Nyerere International Airport of the United Republic of Tanzania is also known as Dar es-Salam Airport. It is located in Dar es-Salam, the biggest city in Tanzania. This airport was named in honor of Tanzania’s first president: Julius Nyerere.

Kilimanjaro International Airport (KIA)

The Kilimanjaro International Airport (KIA) is located in northern Tanzania and serves the cities of Arusha and Moshi. It is the second and smallest airport in the country This airport mostly serves regional flights as well as few long-haul services due to its importance as a leisure destination.

Abeid Amani Karume International Airport (AAKIA)

The Abeid Amani Karume International Airport is located on Unguja Island. It is the main airport serving in the Zanzibar Archipelago of Tanzania. In recent years, the government has implemented a plan to lengthen its runway with the goal of developing this international airport as an alternative economic zone in the East African region.

Namanga border

The Namanga border runs through Namanga town. This town is divided in such a way that most of its territory belongs to Tanzania’s Longido District, whilst another, smaller part of it pertains to the Kenyan County of Kajiado. It is located 180 kilometers from Nairobi and 120 kilometers from Arusha.

Crossing the border at Namanga may take anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour and is a fairly simple procedure. The amount of time it takes depends mostly on the time of day you arrive and whether you are equiped with a printed out copy of your approved Tanzania eVisa or require a visa on arrival.

Tunduma border

The Tunduma border runs through the Tunduma town in Tanzania’s Songwe Region. It is located on the border between Tanzania and Zambia, 1.80 kilometers away from Nakonde and 8.99 kilometers away from Mwenzo. Allow about an hour to cross the border, although in some instances it may take a shorter time.

General Recommendations When Crossing Entry Ports to Enter Tanzania

Foreign nationals crossing any of the aforementioned entry ports to enter the United Republic of Tanzania will be required to present an approved Tanzania visa, a passport with a minimum of 6 months validity, as well as pay the mandatory fees.

It is recommended to keep any documents presented during the Tanzania visa, or e-Visa application at hand, should an immigration officer request to see them at the border.

It is highly recommended that visitors traveling to Tanzania apply for a Tanzania eVisa online prior to their trip in order to facilitate crossing the border and shorten waiting times.